top of page

Old Fashion in a Fast Paced World

Updated: Aug 26, 2022

I have been called many things over a lifetime. But my favorite has been when someone called me "old fashion." I believe that constructive criticism is important and the ability to adapt to current trends is vital in order for people to grow and thrive within a fast paced society. I would like to explore this idea a bit more fully. You see I am old fashion in the sense that I value historic and priceless artifacts. I often have to remind myself to value people over things like technology because with my complicated history I have lost of a lot of loved ones and so I know from personal experience how important it is to value those that I love. To value and guard the time that I have with those that I care about everyday. The concept of being old fashioned is often regarded as total foolishness or as my three year old daughter often says, "That is Ridiculous." However, I love finding creative ways to slow down and enjoy life, being able to savor the moment is a way of life for me. Nowadays, it doesn't matter whether that is with others or alone. I consider it a personal life goal to find ways to go against the grain. Not to cause problems but because I see the world differently and I see that life is full of possibilities and sacred treasures like people. We as a society and as the body of Christ can do so much more right now, today. That can scare people who like to play it safe. In full honesty it sometimes scares me. Then, I remind myself that is what makes me different, unique, special, and priceless. Things that are valuable are hard to find and are difficult to acquire are usually old or "old fashion." Now that I am able to look back at the situation I can chuckle because of how far God has brought me since then. I am still "old fashion" at heart I doubt that will change, but I am so happy that God is in the business of making all things new in His timing not ours. Amen.


From the desk of Esther Kamoche Robinson

Celebrating Mother's Day all month long with flowers from my garden. Happy May!




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page